Micronesia is a region of Oceania, located just east of the Philippines, west of Polynesia, and north-east of Indonesia. The distance from one end to the other end of Micronesia is 2040 nautical miles, and the area includes over 2000 islands. Micronesia consists of eight different island groups, four of which make up the Federated States of Micronesia (FSM). The four states are Pohnpei, Yap, Chuuk, and Kosrae, and the other four groups of islands are; Guam (a U.S. territory), the Republic of Palau, the Marshall Islands (independent nations), and the Northern Mariana Islands (a commonwealth associated with the U.S.).

The islands are a result of volcanic activity millions of years ago and are huge underwater mountains, rims of sunken volcano craters, or a combination of the two.

The people of Micronesia come from a diverse background of ethnicities, resulting in a cultural mixture of Melanesians, Filipinos, and Polynesians.

Micronesia has a typical warm tropical climate with both a wet season and a dry season. The best time to visit is during the dry season, which is from December through April. The rainy season is from April to December.

Visitors will find peace and relaxation on most of the outer islands, as the majority of the population resides in Majuro, the capital. An excellent spot for sports fishermen and divers, the area offers much to see underwater.

Contact and let us plan the perfect trip →


© 2023 37South. All right reserved.