Raja Ampat

Raja Ampat is part of the West Papua province of Indonesia. West Papua is the western half of the large island of New Guinea, whose eastern half is Papua New Guinea. Raja Ampat means 'Four Kings', which represents the four main islands of Misool, Salawati, Batanta, and Waigeo. Raja Ampat is an archipelago of over 1500 small islands, cays, and shoals surrounding the Four Kings.

Often considered one of the best places for scuba diving in the world, Raja Ampat's marine life is much more diverse than other areas in the coral triangle of Indonesia, the Philippines, and Papua New Guinea.

Raja Ampat experiences two primary seasons: the wet season and the dry season. Due to its close proximity to the equator, Raja Ampat does not experience extreme variations in temperature throughout the year and maintains a relatively warm and humid climate.

The local communities in Raja Ampat, predominantly the indigenous Papuan people, have a deep connection to the land and sea. They have a rich cultural heritage and a traditional way of life that coexist harmoniously with the natural environment. When visiting, it is a treat to learn about their customs and witness traditional ceremonies and dances.

The 50,000-square-kilometre area consisting of hundreds of islands boasts wildly different diving experiences, from pelagic drift dives to magic muck dives with other- worldly habitats such as clear-water mangroves with corals.

Contact and let us plan the perfect trip →


© 2023 37South. All right reserved.